Sunday, November 28

Gold ball blister: Award ceremony placed in the middle of the women’s national team stay

Next Monday, the world’s best football players will be chosen. The winner on the women’s side can probably not be present at the party.

Sweden profile Magdalena Eriksson is upset that the Gullballen winner on the women’s side will not receive the award physically.

This is because the prestigious Ballon d’Or gala in Paris is held while the best football women in the world are busy with national team assignments.

For example, Norway will play a World Cup qualifier away against Armenia the day after the gold ball is handed out. No Norwegian players have been nominated this year, but there are a number of other star players participating in the World Cup qualifiers in the same period.

– Not being able to be there and get the celebration you deserve, it is a great sadness, says Sweden and Chelsea star Magdalena Eriksson to the news agency TT.


She is sorry that it has not been possible to find a date that fits both the men’s and women’s international calendar.

– That the person who wins the Ballon d’Or, can not be there physically and receive the prize is incredibly unfortunate. It is a big moment in the player’s career, and then it is a great pity to have to do it from a national team camp, says Eriksson.

She and Stina Blackstenius are nominated from Sweden. They can not combine the Ballon d’Or gala on Monday with the match against Slovakia in Malmö on Tuesday.

According to TT, all the 20 women nominated for the award are busy with international matches either Monday or Tuesday. A better planning job could have been done, says back veteran Nilla Fischer.

– I think of course that it should be outside an international date, so that everyone has the opportunity to come. I do not know who “fucked up”, she says.

The Ballon d’Or, popularly called the Golden Ball in Norwegian, is awarded by France Football and was first awarded on the men’s side in 1956. From 2018, the prize was also awarded to the world’s best female football player, and then Norwegian Ada Hegerberg won it.

These are the nominated women for the Golden Ball this year:

Kadidiatou Diani, France and Paris Saint-Germain

Fran Kirby, England and Chelsea

Jennifer Hermoso, Spain and Barcelona

Christiane Endler, Chile and Paris Saint-Germain

Christine Sinclair, Canada and Portland

Ashley Lawrence, Canada and Paris Saint-Germain

Irene Paredes, Spain and Paris Saint-Germain / Barcelona.

Jessie Fleming, Canada and Chelsea

Lieke Martens, The Netherlands and Barcelona

Sandra Paños, Spain and Barcelona

Vivianne Miedema, The Netherlands and Arsenal

Ellen White, England and Manchester City

Pernille Harder, Denmark and Chelsea

Samantha Mewis, USA og North Carolina Courage

Wendie Renard, France and Lyon

Marie-Antoinette Katoto, France and Paris Saint-Germain

Stina Blackstenius, Sweden and Häcken

Magdalena Eriksson, Sweden and Chelsea

Sam Kerr, Australia and Chelsea

Alexia Putellas, Spain and Barcelona.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *