Tuesday, January 18

Dakar 2022: route, commitments, new features … everything to know about the new edition

The 44th edition of the Dakar, whose route was unveiled on Sunday, will take place in Saudi Arabia, from January 1 to 14, 2022. Here’s all you need to know.

The course

The complete course revealed a layout practically like that of 2021. A tour of Saudi Arabia whose prologue will start from Jeddah, a port city in the center-west which will also welcome the finish after twelve stages, plus a qualifying one. In total, 8,375 km, including 4,258 km of special, are scheduled for this 44th Dakar.

January 1: Jeddah-Ha’il (834 km, 19 km of special).

January 2: Ha’il-Ha’il (546 km, 334 km of special).

January 3: Ha’il-Al Artawiyah (585 km, 339 km of special).

January 4: Al Artawiyah-Al Qaisumah (554 km, 368 km of special).

January 5: Al Qaisumah-Riyadh (707 km, 465 km of special).

January 6: Riyadh-Riyadh (563 km, 348 km of special).

January 7: Riyadh-Riyadh (635 km, 421 km of special).

January 8: day of rest.

January 9: Riyad-Al Dawadimi (700 km, 401 km of special).

January 10: Al Dawadimi-Wadi Ad-Dawasir (828 km, 394 km of special).

January 11: Wadi Ad-Dawasir-Wadi Ad-Dawasir 490 km, 287 km of special).

January 12: Wadi Ad-Dawasir-Bisha (757 km, 374 km of special).

January 13: Bisha-Bisha (500 km, 345 km of special).

January 14: Bisha-Jeddah (676 km, 163 km of special).

The main players

For the third consecutive year in Saudi Arabia, 1,065 participants will compete in the sands of the Arabian Peninsula, aboard 578 vehicles. Winner in 2021, Stéphane Peterhansel, record holder for victories in the event (14 wins, including 6 on motorcycles), and Carlos Sainz, the former double world rally champion and triple winner in 2010, 2018 and 2020, will drive hybrid cars lined up by Audi, for the first time in this race. Sébastien Loeb, Cyril Despres, Nassser Al-Attoya, Carlos Sainz, Nani Roma and Giniel De Villiers will be there.

On the motorcycle side, Toby Price, titled in 2016 and 2019, Sam Sunderland (2017), Matthias Walkner (2018), Ricky Brabec (2020) and title holder Kevin Benavides will be on the starting line again.

The news

Among the 2022 novelties, three are particularly notable: inclusion in the World Rally Raid Championship, the participation of hybrid prototypes and nearly 130 additional “Classic” competitors, with their cars from the 80s and 90s.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *